Ominous Threats

Monday, September 30th, 2013

A couple of weeks ago, a friend of mine got threatened by a gang member who found out he was associated with someone from a rival gang (that consequently lives thousands of miles away). The threat was one of those “I know who you are” types in an ominous voice and then a walk away and stare down. It could be an empty threat, but it could be real. Either way, it’s extremely stupid and it pissed me off greatly.

But it also reminded me of a tough year of my life when I was in grade school. My great uncle, then in his seventies, was jumped by some mafia goons and beat up pretty bad. The exact reason isn’t really important, but suffice it to say that my uncle is a man of great ethics and his failure to take a kickback and do a favor got him in this predicament.

That next year was marred with threatening letters naming names of our family and how they’d hurt, kidnap, or kill us. My mother wouldn’t let me walk to my bus stop. It was a frightening time.

Thinking back on that time, I began to wonder if my friend was feeling the same way and why people can’t just live their lives instead of being assholes.

Honestly, I don’t have anything profound to say. I just was thinking about this and praying that the situation my friend is in is really just fake tough guy trying to be hard.

Leave a Reply

