I am a Bit Different Than You Folks

Friday, November 15th, 2013

logo

I belong to a gym. This gym is in a nice area in a nice town. This gym is pretty affordable. The folks there are pretty nice. The folks there are pretty middle class. The folks there are pretty white.

I live in a nice area of a nice town. I value affordability. I am pretty nice. I am pretty middle class. I am, in fact, quite white.

That said… I’m a little bit different…

I submitted my paperwork to quit a few weeks ago. Not because I’m different, but because Planet Fitness fits my schedule and my routine a lot better. When I was asked by the guy at the front desk why I was going to leave I told him just that, then the conversation went a bit like this:

“Oh, Planet Fitness. You know the closest one is in Souderton, right?”

“Yeah, but I join the Black Card and use all the different locations. I work in Philly most of the time.”

“Aren’t most of the Philly gyms they have in bad neighborhoods?”

“I guess. Some are, some aren’t.”

“I was reading about how homeless people are joining because for just $10 per month they can get access to showers and 24 hour shelter.”

“Oh wow. Yeah, that makes sense. That’s really cool.”

“Well, I’m not sure if it’s cool. It’s horrible for business. I couldn’t imagine dirty, smelly guys walking around my gym.”

“So… where do I sign?”

Leave a Reply

