Thanks, Day 99

Wednesday, April 9th, 2014

Today, I’m thankful for the home I live in and the means to support that home. I’m thankful to have woken up in a cozy bed, with a roof over my head, and a warm blanket keeping me comfortable.

Yesterday, I took advantage of a nice day and parked in a free parking lot and walked to a few appointments. As I walked through a large underpass, I saw a row of mattresses with bags of clothes and blankets piled on them. Underneath that Philly city highway, a family makes a home out of nearly nothing.

Next time that I complain about not having enough space in my home or feel envy towards someone else’s means, I will try to remember to put it in perspective and spend my time praying for that family under the Vine Street Expressway instead of complaining about my wants.

Leave a Reply

